Add Multiple Trackers at once with Transmission Remote?

Discussion of Transmission that doesn't fit in the other categories
AkaneYoshinega
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2018 9:38 pm

Add Multiple Trackers at once with Transmission Remote?

Postby AkaneYoshinega » Sat Dec 08, 2018 9:42 pm

Hi!

I've recently switched from downloading with my pc to a Qnap downloading station.

So I went from uTorrent to Transmission, which I check from my laptop by Transmission Remote.

I discovered that with Transmission Remote I'm unable to add multiple trackers at once, and I've to add them one by one.

What can I do?

killemov
Posts: 391
Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 5:04 pm

Re: Add Multiple Trackers at once with Transmission Remote?

Postby killemov » Thu Jan 03, 2019 2:48 pm

AkaneYoshinega wrote:...

What can I do?

  • File a request on github to add that functionality and wait. (Check first if your request hasn't been filed in some form already.)
  • Write a script to automate adding the trackers.
  • Use a web-UI like Shift that can add multiple trackers to multiple torrents at once.

Hanerha
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2019 7:06 am

Re: Add Multiple Trackers at once with Transmission Remote?

Postby Hanerha » Mon Jan 07, 2019 7:08 am

How good is Shift as a UI in your opinion?

cfpp2p
Posts: 290
Joined: Sat Aug 08, 2009 3:14 pm

Re: Add Multiple Trackers at once with Transmission Remote?

Postby cfpp2p » Mon Jan 07, 2019 3:28 pm

Hanerha wrote:How good is Shift as a UI in your opinion?

Perfect, I use it as part of the multiface webclient in my github fork
https://github.com/cfpp2p/transmission

https://github.com/cfpp2p/transmission/ ... web-client
peace doesn't come without a price...
there is nothing truer on Earth or of the Universe

AkaneYoshinega
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2018 9:38 pm

Re: Add Multiple Trackers at once with Transmission Remote?

Postby AkaneYoshinega » Tue Feb 12, 2019 12:17 am

Thank you for the suggestion, but I didn't really understand how to download and install the Shift interface.

How do I know where the Transmission-daemeon resides? As I told you Transmission isn't installed on my PC, but on the Qnap.
Also I didn't understand if I have to unzip the Shift-master.zip file directly in the folder where the Transmission-daemon resides. (what's git, by the way?)
How do I verify that transmission-daemon has proper access to the downloaded and unzipped files?
Lastly I didn't understand how to set the TRANSMISSION_WEB_HOME environment variable to the chosen path.

Thanks for your time!

killemov
Posts: 391
Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 5:04 pm

Re: Add Multiple Trackers at once with Transmission Remote?

Postby killemov » Wed Feb 13, 2019 1:46 am

AkaneYoshinega wrote:Thank you for the suggestion, but I didn't really understand how to download and install the Shift interface.
I also have transmission-daemon installed on a QNAP device, but that has been running Debian instead of QTS for many years now. I found the stock firmware way to limited, especially the available commands on the command line. INSTALLING DEBIAN IS NOT FOR YOU!

So getting Shift on a QNAP device running the official software ...
First: Make sure you have access to the transmission-daemon WEB-UI as-is. I can't help you with that.

Click "Clone or download" on the github page. Since you probably don't have a Git client on your QNAP, download the zip, unpack it on your PC and upload the unzipped dir to your QNAP device. Now it is installed, but you need to configure a start script located in /etc/init.d/ or opt/etc/init.d/. It probably has transmission in the filename somewhere. Also, finding the actual location of the uploaded Shift files is a puzzle for you to figure out. I don't remember the directory structure the stock QNAP firmware uses.

How do I know where the Transmission-daemon resides? As I told you Transmission isn't installed on my PC, but on the Qnap.
You don't need to know. You just need to find the startup script and edit it.

Also I didn't understand if I have to unzip the Shift-master.zip file directly in the folder where the Transmission-daemon resides. (what's git, by the way?)
That will not be necessary. And you won't be using Git anyway.

How do I verify that transmission-daemon has proper access to the downloaded and unzipped files?
Using "chmod 777" on all files should suffice for now. You are probably good to go anyway after getting your files on the QNAP.

Lastly I didn't understand how to set the TRANSMISSION_WEB_HOME environment variable to the chosen path.
You need to add/edit the export line to/in the startup script.

Thanks for your time!
Please post questions and/or remarks in the main Shift topic, but please keep QNAP-specific issues or findings here in this topic. I might use this info to update the starting post.

AkaneYoshinega
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2018 9:38 pm

Re: Add Multiple Trackers at once with Transmission Remote?

Postby AkaneYoshinega » Thu Feb 14, 2019 11:13 pm

Thank for your support!

I spent some time looking for the transmission-daemon WEB-UI and finally found it.

I think the starting script in the user/Web/transmission folder, in a file named transmission.cgi

This is its content:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh
#--------------------------------------------
#  tranmission.cgi
#
#
#   HISTORY:
#       2008/12/12 -    Written by Laurent (Ad'Novea)
#      2008/08/20 -   idea from Y.C. Ken Chen
#
#--------------------------------------------

#No external access
#Thanks to Dimitri91

if [ "${REMOTE_ADDR}" != "127.0.0.1" ]; then
   echo "Location:/"
   echo ""
   exit
fi

# Retreive command line parameters
   paramVar1=`echo $QUERY_STRING | cut -d \& -f 1 | cut -d \= -f 1`
   paramVal1=`echo $QUERY_STRING | cut -d \& -f 1 | cut -d \= -f 2`
   paramVar2=`echo $QUERY_STRING | cut -d \& -f 2 | cut -d \= -f 1`
   paramVal2=`echo $QUERY_STRING | cut -d \& -f 2 | cut -d \= -f 2`
   paramVar3=`echo $QUERY_STRING | cut -d \& -f 3 | cut -d \= -f 1`
   paramVal3=`echo $QUERY_STRING | cut -d \& -f 3 | cut -d \= -f 2`
   paramVar4=`echo $QUERY_STRING | cut -d \& -f 4 | cut -d \= -f 1`
   paramVal4=`echo $QUERY_STRING | cut -d \& -f 4 | cut -d \= -f 2`
   paramVar5=`echo $QUERY_STRING | cut -d \& -f 3 | cut -d \= -f 1`
   paramVal5=`echo $QUERY_STRING | cut -d \& -f 3 | cut -d \= -f 2`
   paramVar6=`echo $QUERY_STRING | cut -d \& -f 4 | cut -d \= -f 1`
   paramVal6=`echo $QUERY_STRING | cut -d \& -f 4 | cut -d \= -f 2`   
   
   SYS_MODEL=`/sbin/getcfg system model`;

# Determine Platform type
   CPU_MODEL=`uname -m`
   KERNEL=`uname -mr | cut -d '-'  -f 1 | cut -d ' '  -f 1`
#   if [ "${KERNEL}" == "2.6.12.6" ] ; then CHROOTED=1; else CHROOTED=0; fi

# Debugging
   echo -e "content-type: text/html\n"
   echo -e "\n`date`"
   echo -e "\nCPU=${CPU_MODEL} / KERNEL=${KERNEL}"
   echo -e "\nSCRIPT: transmission.cgi param1[${paramVar1}=${paramVal1}] param2[${paramVar2}=${paramVal2}] param3[${paramVar3}=${paramVal3}] param4[${paramVar4}=${paramVal4}]"

   
   case $paramVar1 in
      # Start/Stop Transmission
      transmission)
         echo -e "Transmission: ${paramVal1}"
         /etc/init.d/transmission.sh $paramVal1
         ;;
      addons_conf)
         echo -e "Transmission: Configuring settings.json"
         /etc/init.d/transmission.sh addons_conf
         ;;
      config)
         echo -e "Transmission: Configuring settings.json"
         /etc/init.d/transmission.sh config
         ;;
      max_running_torrents)
         echo -e "Transmission: Setting max running torrents"
         /etc/init.d/transmission.sh max-running-torrents
         ;;
      email_notify)
         echo -e "Transmission: Setting up email notifications"
         /etc/init.d/transmission.sh setup_email_notifier
         ;;   
      change_frontend)
         echo -e "Transmission: Change the web frontend to $paramVal2"
         /etc/init.d/transmission.sh change_frontend $paramVal2
         ;;
      update_application)
         echo -e "Transmission: Updating Transmisssion"
         /etc/init.d/transmission.sh update_application
         ;;
      update_trans_web_control)
         echo -e "Transmission: Updating Transmission web control"
         /etc/init.d/transmission.sh update_trans_web_control
         ;;
      backup_addons_conf)
         echo -e "Transmission: Backing up Transmission add ons config"
         /etc/init.d/transmission.sh backup_addons_conf
         ;;
      restore_addons_conf)
         echo -e "Transmission: Restoring Transmission add ons config"
         /etc/init.d/transmission.sh restore_addons_conf
         ;;         
      backup_transmission_conf)
         echo -e "Transmission: Backing up Transmission config"
         /etc/init.d/transmission.sh backup_transmission_conf
         ;;
      restore_transmission_conf)
         echo -e "Transmission: Restoring Transmission config"
         /etc/init.d/transmission.sh restore_transmission_conf
         ;;         
      backup_twx_conf)
         echo -e "Transmission: Backing up Transmission config"
         /etc/init.d/transmission.sh backup_twx_conf
         ;;
      restore_twx_conf)
         echo -e "Transmission: Restoring Transmission config"
         /etc/init.d/transmission.sh restore_twx_conf
         ;;   
         
      # Invalid command line parameters
      *)
         echo -e "ERROR: wrong params"
         ;;
   esac

   echo -e "\nEND OF SCRIPT: transmission.cgi"
exit $?


As you suggested there are a number of etc/init.d/ scripts, but I'm not good enough to recognize which I have to edit.

One last thing, shall I unpack the Shift file inside the Transmission folder?

killemov
Posts: 391
Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 5:04 pm

Re: Add Multiple Trackers at once with Transmission Remote?

Postby killemov » Sun Feb 17, 2019 2:44 pm

Actually, I think the file you need to edit is /etc/init.d/transmission.sh. And I think it would be best to keep the Shift files in a different folder.

Cartledge174
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2019 4:49 am

Re: Add Multiple Trackers at once with Transmission Remote?

Postby Cartledge174 » Thu Mar 14, 2019 4:52 am

Many torrents are uploaded to, and/or created with several trackers. When demonoid went down, I completed over 100 torrents by manually adding trackers on the presumption that the torrent was tracked by more than just demonoid AND I was correct liteblue.


Return to “General”