Page 1 of 1

Add Multiple Trackers at once with Transmission Remote?

Posted: Sat Dec 08, 2018 9:42 pm
by AkaneYoshinega
Hi!

I've recently switched from downloading with my pc to a Qnap downloading station.

So I went from uTorrent to Transmission, which I check from my laptop by Transmission Remote.

I discovered that with Transmission Remote I'm unable to add multiple trackers at once, and I've to add them one by one.

What can I do?

Re: Add Multiple Trackers at once with Transmission Remote?

Posted: Thu Jan 03, 2019 2:48 pm
by killemov
AkaneYoshinega wrote:...

What can I do?
  • File a request on github to add that functionality and wait. (Check first if your request hasn't been filed in some form already.)
  • Write a script to automate adding the trackers.
  • Use a web-UI like Shift that can add multiple trackers to multiple torrents at once.

Re: Add Multiple Trackers at once with Transmission Remote?

Posted: Mon Jan 07, 2019 7:08 am
by Hanerha
How good is Shift as a UI in your opinion?

Re: Add Multiple Trackers at once with Transmission Remote?

Posted: Mon Jan 07, 2019 3:28 pm
by cfpp2p
Hanerha wrote:How good is Shift as a UI in your opinion?
Perfect, I use it as part of the multiface webclient in my github fork
https://github.com/cfpp2p/transmission

https://github.com/cfpp2p/transmission/ ... web-client

Re: Add Multiple Trackers at once with Transmission Remote?

Posted: Tue Feb 12, 2019 12:17 am
by AkaneYoshinega
Thank you for the suggestion, but I didn't really understand how to download and install the Shift interface.

How do I know where the Transmission-daemeon resides? As I told you Transmission isn't installed on my PC, but on the Qnap.
Also I didn't understand if I have to unzip the Shift-master.zip file directly in the folder where the Transmission-daemon resides. (what's git, by the way?)
How do I verify that transmission-daemon has proper access to the downloaded and unzipped files?
Lastly I didn't understand how to set the TRANSMISSION_WEB_HOME environment variable to the chosen path.

Thanks for your time!

Re: Add Multiple Trackers at once with Transmission Remote?

Posted: Wed Feb 13, 2019 1:46 am
by killemov
AkaneYoshinega wrote:Thank you for the suggestion, but I didn't really understand how to download and install the Shift interface.
I also have transmission-daemon installed on a QNAP device, but that has been running Debian instead of QTS for many years now. I found the stock firmware way to limited, especially the available commands on the command line. INSTALLING DEBIAN IS NOT FOR YOU!

So getting Shift on a QNAP device running the official software ...
First: Make sure you have access to the transmission-daemon WEB-UI as-is. I can't help you with that.

Click "Clone or download" on the github page. Since you probably don't have a Git client on your QNAP, download the zip, unpack it on your PC and upload the unzipped dir to your QNAP device. Now it is installed, but you need to configure a start script located in /etc/init.d/ or opt/etc/init.d/. It probably has transmission in the filename somewhere. Also, finding the actual location of the uploaded Shift files is a puzzle for you to figure out. I don't remember the directory structure the stock QNAP firmware uses.
How do I know where the Transmission-daemon resides? As I told you Transmission isn't installed on my PC, but on the Qnap.
You don't need to know. You just need to find the startup script and edit it.
Also I didn't understand if I have to unzip the Shift-master.zip file directly in the folder where the Transmission-daemon resides. (what's git, by the way?)
That will not be necessary. And you won't be using Git anyway.
How do I verify that transmission-daemon has proper access to the downloaded and unzipped files?
Using "chmod 777" on all files should suffice for now. You are probably good to go anyway after getting your files on the QNAP.
Lastly I didn't understand how to set the TRANSMISSION_WEB_HOME environment variable to the chosen path.
You need to add/edit the export line to/in the startup script.
Thanks for your time!
Please post questions and/or remarks in the main Shift topic, but please keep QNAP-specific issues or findings here in this topic. I might use this info to update the starting post.

Re: Add Multiple Trackers at once with Transmission Remote?

Posted: Thu Feb 14, 2019 11:13 pm
by AkaneYoshinega
Thank for your support!

I spent some time looking for the transmission-daemon WEB-UI and finally found it.

I think the starting script in the user/Web/transmission folder, in a file named transmission.cgi

This is its content:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh
#--------------------------------------------
#  tranmission.cgi
#
#
#	HISTORY:
#       2008/12/12 -    Written by Laurent (Ad'Novea)
#		2008/08/20 -	idea from Y.C. Ken Chen
#
#--------------------------------------------

#No external access
#Thanks to Dimitri91

if [ "${REMOTE_ADDR}" != "127.0.0.1" ]; then
   echo "Location:/"
   echo ""
   exit
fi

# Retreive command line parameters
	paramVar1=`echo $QUERY_STRING | cut -d \& -f 1 | cut -d \= -f 1`
	paramVal1=`echo $QUERY_STRING | cut -d \& -f 1 | cut -d \= -f 2`
	paramVar2=`echo $QUERY_STRING | cut -d \& -f 2 | cut -d \= -f 1`
	paramVal2=`echo $QUERY_STRING | cut -d \& -f 2 | cut -d \= -f 2`
	paramVar3=`echo $QUERY_STRING | cut -d \& -f 3 | cut -d \= -f 1`
	paramVal3=`echo $QUERY_STRING | cut -d \& -f 3 | cut -d \= -f 2`
	paramVar4=`echo $QUERY_STRING | cut -d \& -f 4 | cut -d \= -f 1`
	paramVal4=`echo $QUERY_STRING | cut -d \& -f 4 | cut -d \= -f 2`
	paramVar5=`echo $QUERY_STRING | cut -d \& -f 3 | cut -d \= -f 1`
	paramVal5=`echo $QUERY_STRING | cut -d \& -f 3 | cut -d \= -f 2`
	paramVar6=`echo $QUERY_STRING | cut -d \& -f 4 | cut -d \= -f 1`
	paramVal6=`echo $QUERY_STRING | cut -d \& -f 4 | cut -d \= -f 2`	
	
	SYS_MODEL=`/sbin/getcfg system model`;

# Determine Platform type
	CPU_MODEL=`uname -m`
	KERNEL=`uname -mr | cut -d '-'  -f 1 | cut -d ' '  -f 1`
#	if [ "${KERNEL}" == "2.6.12.6" ] ; then CHROOTED=1; else CHROOTED=0; fi

# Debugging
	echo -e "content-type: text/html\n"
	echo -e "\n`date`"
	echo -e "\nCPU=${CPU_MODEL} / KERNEL=${KERNEL}"
	echo -e "\nSCRIPT: transmission.cgi param1[${paramVar1}=${paramVal1}] param2[${paramVar2}=${paramVal2}] param3[${paramVar3}=${paramVal3}] param4[${paramVar4}=${paramVal4}]"

	
	case $paramVar1 in
		# Start/Stop Transmission
		transmission)
			echo -e "Transmission: ${paramVal1}"
			/etc/init.d/transmission.sh $paramVal1
			;;
		addons_conf)
			echo -e "Transmission: Configuring settings.json"
			/etc/init.d/transmission.sh addons_conf
			;;
		config)
			echo -e "Transmission: Configuring settings.json"
			/etc/init.d/transmission.sh config
			;;
		max_running_torrents)
			echo -e "Transmission: Setting max running torrents"
			/etc/init.d/transmission.sh max-running-torrents
			;;
		email_notify)
			echo -e "Transmission: Setting up email notifications"
			/etc/init.d/transmission.sh setup_email_notifier
			;;	
		change_frontend)
			echo -e "Transmission: Change the web frontend to $paramVal2"
			/etc/init.d/transmission.sh change_frontend $paramVal2
			;;
		update_application)
			echo -e "Transmission: Updating Transmisssion"
			/etc/init.d/transmission.sh update_application
			;;
		update_trans_web_control)
			echo -e "Transmission: Updating Transmission web control"
			/etc/init.d/transmission.sh update_trans_web_control
			;;
		backup_addons_conf)
			echo -e "Transmission: Backing up Transmission add ons config"
			/etc/init.d/transmission.sh backup_addons_conf
			;;
		restore_addons_conf)
			echo -e "Transmission: Restoring Transmission add ons config"
			/etc/init.d/transmission.sh restore_addons_conf
			;;			
		backup_transmission_conf)
			echo -e "Transmission: Backing up Transmission config"
			/etc/init.d/transmission.sh backup_transmission_conf
			;;
		restore_transmission_conf)
			echo -e "Transmission: Restoring Transmission config"
			/etc/init.d/transmission.sh restore_transmission_conf
			;;			
		backup_twx_conf)
			echo -e "Transmission: Backing up Transmission config"
			/etc/init.d/transmission.sh backup_twx_conf
			;;
		restore_twx_conf)
			echo -e "Transmission: Restoring Transmission config"
			/etc/init.d/transmission.sh restore_twx_conf
			;;	
			
		# Invalid command line parameters
		*)
			echo -e "ERROR: wrong params"
			;;
	esac

	echo -e "\nEND OF SCRIPT: transmission.cgi"
exit $?
As you suggested there are a number of etc/init.d/ scripts, but I'm not good enough to recognize which I have to edit.

One last thing, shall I unpack the Shift file inside the Transmission folder?

Re: Add Multiple Trackers at once with Transmission Remote?

Posted: Sun Feb 17, 2019 2:44 pm
by killemov
Actually, I think the file you need to edit is /etc/init.d/transmission.sh. And I think it would be best to keep the Shift files in a different folder.

Re: Add Multiple Trackers at once with Transmission Remote?

Posted: Thu Mar 14, 2019 4:52 am
by Cartledge174
Many torrents are uploaded to, and/or created with several trackers. When demonoid went down, I completed over 100 torrents by manually adding trackers on the presumption that the torrent was tracked by more than just demonoid AND I was correct liteblue.

Re: Add Multiple Trackers at once with Transmission Remote?

Posted: Mon Mar 23, 2020 10:56 am
by Id2a
File a request on github to add that functionality and wait. Write a script to automate adding the trackers. Use a web-UI like Shift that can add multiple trackers to multiple torrents at once.

Re: Add Multiple Trackers at once with Transmission Remote?

Posted: Fri May 29, 2020 2:38 am
by Trott18
Yes. The link speciifed is needed to be edited. Try editing once, you might get the solution