BitTorrent, Transmission and IPv6

Discussion of Transmission that doesn't fit in the other categories
jch

BitTorrent, Transmission and IPv6

Post by jch »

Some of you may have been hearing about this new-fangled IPv6 thing. Here's a little background information.

Please note that I am not a Transmission developer, just a contributor, and hence none of what I say is an official position of the Transmission team.

The problem with IPv4

IPv4, the protocol currently in use on the Internet, has served us well for 30 years now. Developed in the late 70s, IPv4 was not designed to scale beyond a hundred million nodes or so.

There are probably around one billion nodes on the Internet now. People have managed to get IPv4 to scale by using a trick known as NAT, which consists in hiding multiple nodes behind a single IP address.

While NAT is fine for client-server access, such as the web, it complicates peer-to-peer applications quite a bit. Because of NAT, we're losing our time developing hacks such as port forwarding, uPNP, and various other NAT traversal techniques.

What is more, ISPs have been speaking of putting an additional layer of NAT in the network. When they do that, you'll be unable to do port forwarding yourself.

The solution is to transition to a new protocol that is designed to scale to hundreds of billions of nodes. Such a new protocol, known as IPv6, has been finalised in 1996, and we've been busy implementing IPv6 support in software and hardware since then.

IPv6 and Transmission

Like most BitTorrent implementations, Transmission is able to speak both IPv4 and IPv6 at the same time: if you have IPv6 connectivity, Transmission will speak IPv4 to some peers, and IPv6 to others. The following are implemented over IPv6:
  • peer-to-peer communication;
  • PEX (improved in 1.80);
  • DHT (new in 1.80);
The following do not work yet over IPv6:
  • communication with trackers.