local peer discovery

Feature requests not specific to either the Mac OS X or GTK+ versions of Transmission
grimfandango

local peer discovery

Post by grimfandango »

I've been using Transmission for a few months now, and I'm really missing the local peer discovery feature that was in uTorrent. I was wondering if there's any plans to implement it in Transmission?
Waldorf

Re: local peer discovery

Post by Waldorf »

The official proposal: http://bittorrent.org/beps/bep_0026.html

Sounds interesting.
antikorr

Post by antikorr »

Just wanted to request a feature, which is still not implemented in Transmission. Thought it was requested already and I was right. It's 'Local Peer Discovery'. It's called that way in uTorrent. And it's really useful at least for me, as my ISP provides me with the local retracker for the most popular torrent tracker in Russia, so I'm able to download and share files at the maximum speeds of up to 100Mb/s. And soon they can raise that number to 1Gb/s in some particular districts. And mine is among those lucky ones. So, I would LOVE to have 'LPD' function in Transmission. But since nowadays I cap the speed due to my tariff capabilities, and Transmission doesn't get when the local peer is attached, I still download and upload at the speeds which are not the maximum ones. While on uTorrent I would have been downloading or sharing like a hurricane. :)

Dear Developers, I hope 'LPD' is on your to-do list. And I wish you luck! Regards!

P.S.: This prolix post is actually just a bump for the topic. So that you won't be able to forget about the request. :))))))
Waldorf

Post by Waldorf »

The request is on the todo list on trac ( #1394 ). It's in need of a volunteer to implement it.
antikorr

Post by antikorr »

Waldorf wrote:The request is on the todo list on trac ( #1394 ). It's in need of a volunteer to implement it.
Oh, I see. Thanks for the reply. Hope, volunteer will be found afterall.
Bricktop

Post by Bricktop »