[Solved] Blocklist URL

Ask for help and report issues with the Mac OS X version of Transmission
oehmsmith
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2010 4:13 am

Re: Blocklist URL

Postby oehmsmith » Sat Dec 04, 2010 5:09 am

http://blocklistpro.com/download-center/blocklist-manager/ (Windows only) appears to convert to .dat formats. I'll try it when at work next week.

oehmsmith
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2010 4:13 am

Re: Blocklist URL

Postby oehmsmith » Sat Dec 04, 2010 5:23 am

Yes i paste in (some) contents from http://www.trustyfiles.com/help-sw-blockupdt.php and check out Transmissions prefs it says IP addresses are loaded. This file is in .dat format.

x190
Posts: 4920
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2008 4:59 am

Re: Blocklist URL

Postby x190 » Sat Dec 04, 2010 8:10 am

https://trac.transmissionbt.com/wiki/Blocklists

Quote from wiki:

What blocklist does Transmission Use? ¶

Transmission supports the P2P Plaintext Format, which is used by PeerGuardian2, Bluetack, Vuze, ProtoWall, and KTorrent, and the DAT format, which was originally made popular by eMule.

The Transmission Project does not evaluate or endorse any specific blocklists. If you do not know what blocklist to use, you might read about some third-party blocklists and evaluate them on your own.

If "Enable automatic updates" is enabled, Transmission will periodically refresh its copy of your blocklist from your specified URL.

When you press the `Update Blocklist' button, Transmission will download a new copy of your blocklist.

from your specified URL


This URL does need to be the one ending in .gz in my experience. I find iblocklist to be a good source. Lists do need to be numerically sorted. Most, including many from iblocklist come presorted, however, if you wish to use certain unsorted lists such as those from dcha you can sort them using B.I.S.S.'s Blocklist Converter and add them manually.

http://www.bluetack.co.uk/converter/ind ... =&custom=1
-------------------------------------------------

oehmsmith
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2010 4:13 am

Re: Blocklist URL

Postby oehmsmith » Sat Dec 04, 2010 11:12 am

Thanks x190 though I'm just reporting on my investigations. So when you paste http://www.bluetack.co.uk/config/level1.gz. in and say update does it work? This is where for me it error'd. However I tried again and it worked! Don't you just hate that.

tehpwnerer1918
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2010 2:32 pm

Re: Blocklist URL

Postby tehpwnerer1918 » Sat Dec 04, 2010 2:34 pm

Is it possible to add multiple lists to Transmission by comma separation or other method? Like I have done below:

http://iblocklist.ottecomputers.com:80/ ... _level1.gz, http://list11.iblocklist.com:80/files/bt_level2.gz, http://list2.iblocklist.com:80/files/bt_level3.gz

I put that in, and it doesn't give an error when I update, but it also doesn't show any additional IPs being blocked, and is still at 224,914.

Thanks.

x190
Posts: 4920
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2008 4:59 am

Re: Blocklist URL

Postby x190 » Sat Dec 04, 2010 8:55 pm

tehpwnerer1918 wrote:Is it possible to add multiple lists to Transmission by comma separation or other method? Like I have done below:

http://iblocklist.ottecomputers.com:80/ ... _level1.gz, http://list11.iblocklist.com:80/files/bt_level2.gz, http://list2.iblocklist.com:80/files/bt_level3.gz

I put that in, and it doesn't give an error when I update, but it also doesn't show any additional IPs being blocked, and is still at 224,914.

Thanks.


Transmission will only update one .gz url from the update button. Other lists (as many as you wish) can be added in .txt form (i.e. d/l and unzip the .gz file yourself) to Transmission's Application Support's blocklist folder. Hit Command-3 (Message Log) to see that Transmission loads these lists on restart.

@oehmsmith

Thanks x190 though I'm just reporting on my investigations. So when you paste http://www.bluetack.co.uk/config/level1.gz. in and say update does it work? This is where for me it error'd. However I tried again and it worked! Don't you just hate that.


That's why I prefer iblocklist. They have the same lists but seem to be more reliable for updates. Glad you got it working! :)
-------------------------------------------------

raginspo
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2010 10:07 am

Re: Blocklist URL

Postby raginspo » Tue Dec 07, 2010 10:12 am

I'm in the US and I cant connect to bluetack.co.uk at all to try and update my lists. It just times out. I tried to ping it and all requests timed out. My friend in NY tried it too, no luck. However another friend in Japan was able... so I dont know whats going on. Was hoping those involved with this discussion might know something.

-spo

x190
Posts: 4920
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2008 4:59 am

Re: Blocklist URL

Postby x190 » Tue Dec 07, 2010 10:36 am

raginspo wrote:I'm in the US and I cant connect to bluetack.co.uk at all to try and update my lists. It just times out. I tried to ping it and all requests timed out. My friend in NY tried it too, no luck. However another friend in Japan was able... so I dont know whats going on. Was hoping those involved with this discussion might know something.

-spo


Did you try iblklt ? They have many of the same lists and may be more USA-friendly. :)

EDIT: Not suggesting btck isn't US- friendly, they may have been temporarily down or overloaded. :wink:
-------------------------------------------------

raginspo
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2010 10:07 am

Re: Blocklist URL

Postby raginspo » Tue Dec 07, 2010 6:47 pm

Yea, I downloaded 3 lists from there and put them in my blocklist folder under Transmissions application support. Running all 3, just cant auto update. I thought they may be overloaded too, but when my friend in Japan got it I just assumed its being blocked by my service provider.

x190
Posts: 4920
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2008 4:59 am

Re: Blocklist URL

Postby x190 » Tue Dec 07, 2010 8:08 pm

raginspo wrote:Yea, I downloaded 3 lists from there and put them in my blocklist folder under Transmissions application support. Running all 3, just cant auto update. I thought they may be overloaded too, but when my friend in Japan got it I just assumed its being blocked by my service provider.


Some sites block d/ling to certain countries. Also, number of d/ls in a given period can be limited, so you don't just constantly hit the update button. No idea if that's the case here. You could use one .gz iblklst URL for auto-updating, if necessary.
-------------------------------------------------

jpp47
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2008 9:57 am

Re: Blocklist URL

Postby jpp47 » Fri Dec 10, 2010 6:44 pm

I used too the http://www.bluetack.co.uk/config/level1.gz but the problem is that the number of URL remains the same i.e 224'914 IP. And despite updates it remains there ? Can somebody explain me why ?
Thanks in advance
jpp47 :shock:

x190
Posts: 4920
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2008 4:59 am

Re: Blocklist URL

Postby x190 » Fri Dec 10, 2010 11:54 pm

jpp47 wrote:I used too the http://www.bluetack.co.uk/config/level1.gz but the problem is that the number of URL remains the same i.e 224'914 IP. And despite updates it remains there ? Can somebody explain me why ?
Thanks in advance
jpp47 :shock:



$ wc -l /Users//Desktop/level1
224914 /Users//Desktop/level1

You are up-to-date. :)
-------------------------------------------------

jpp47
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2008 9:57 am

Re: Blocklist URL

Postby jpp47 » Sat Dec 11, 2010 7:11 pm

Many thanks for your information. I'm now secured :D

evands
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 5:58 am

Re: Blocklist URL

Postby evands » Fri Jan 21, 2011 6:00 am

I just submitted a patch (#3928) to fix the bug with downloading the blocklist from URLs like http://list.iblocklist.com/?list=bt_level1.

transmit
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2007 5:43 pm

Re: Blocklist URL

Postby transmit » Sun Jan 30, 2011 5:51 am

x190 wrote:
jpp47 wrote:I used too the http://www.bluetack.co.uk/config/level1.gz but the problem is that the number of URL remains the same i.e 224'914 IP. And despite updates it remains there ? Can somebody explain me why ?
Thanks in advance
jpp47 :shock:



$ wc -l /Users//Desktop/level1
224914 /Users//Desktop/level1

You are up-to-date. :)

I'm a long-time Transmission user, but ever since they took out the auto-updating blocklist, I've been looking for a blocklist. The one in the first quote looks good, but I'm not sure if I'm supposed to copy and paste those lines in Terminal.app or what. Any suggestions? Thanks!


Return to “Mac Support”