[Solved] Blocklist URL

Ask for help and report issues with the Mac OS X version of Transmission
iamthewalrus
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2010 6:05 am

Re: Blocklist URL

Post by iamthewalrus »

Whipped up a little script that downloads the level1, 2 and 3 lists and puts them in the blocklist directory. You'll have to restart transmission after downloading the lists for them to take effect though. You can add more lists, if you know the name, by adding them to the line that starts with "my @bl". If you don't want to manually run the script you'll need to have a cronjob do it for you but you will still have to restart transmission before the changes take effect.

Code: Select all

#!/usr/bin/perl -w

use strict;

my $bldir = '~/Library/Application\ Support/Transmission/blocklists';
my $baseurl = 'http://www.bluetack.co.uk/config';
my @bl = ('level1.gz', 'level2.gz', 'level3.gz');

foreach (@bl) {
  system("curl -L $baseurl/$_ -o $bldir/$_");
}
Ryoujin
Posts: 576
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2008 3:43 pm

Re: Blocklist URL

Post by Ryoujin »

Rolcol wrote:Ryoujin:

The default list was this one: http://www.bluetack.co.uk/config/level1.gz. Just remember that it's not endorsed by the developers of Transmission.
Thanks a lot for the assistance, Rolcol!
mustgroove
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2009 1:02 pm

Re: Blocklist URL

Post by mustgroove »

Thanks for the script iamthewalrus... for the script newbies among us though (uh, me included), and chance you can post a link to some info as to how to run this script?
googlyelmo
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2009 6:14 am

Re: Blocklist URL

Post by googlyelmo »

I had the same issue with the list when DLed through Transmission coming back as not containing any addresses.

I manually DLed the Level 1 list from the Bluetack site [http://www.bluetack.co.uk/config/level1.gz], and put it in the blocklists folder. Transmission launches, then converts the .gz file into a .bin file, showing 0k data, and again Transmission shows 0 addresses in list. I repeated this process, cleared the DS cache, rebooted. No go. Otherwise Transmission has continued to work as normal. Tried adding the level 2 and level 3 lists as well, same thing happens. Anyone with the issue find a successful workaround? Thanks.

Will

MacBook 4,1 OS X.6.4, Transmission 2.12
googlyelmo
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2009 6:14 am

Re: Blocklist URL

Post by googlyelmo »

googlyelmo wrote:I had the same issue with the list when DLed through Transmission coming back as not containing any addresses.

I manually DLed the Level 1 list from the Bluetack site [http://www.bluetack.co.uk/config/level1.gz], and put it in the blocklists folder. Transmission launches, then converts the .gz file into a .bin file, showing 0k data, and again Transmission shows 0 addresses in list. I repeated this process, cleared the DS cache, rebooted. No go. Otherwise Transmission has continued to work as normal. Tried adding the level 2 and level 3 lists as well, same thing happens. Anyone with the issue find a successful workaround? Thanks.

Will

MacBook 4,1 OS X.6.4, Transmission 2.12
ADDENDUM: While leaving the "level1.gz" and "level1.bin" files in the blocklists folder (Transmission performs the extraction from the .gz file on lauch, it seems), I tried one more time entering the Bluetack URL, this time it worked, with one interesting difference. The datafile downloaded, and was immediately converted/extracted to a file entitled "blocklist.bin" Other than described, I have no idea what was different this time. I hope this works next week, and Transmission doesn't just fail to get the new file, having apparently discarded the old one FIRST! And still haven't figured how to use the level 2 and 3 files simultaneously, or do any of this manually, as a backup against whatever is buggy in the app's update code. . .

Will
iamthewalrus
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2010 6:05 am

Re: Blocklist URL

Post by iamthewalrus »

@mustgroove
you will need a text editor like Text Wrangler. Once you have downloaded and installed it, or whatever text editor you prefer open a new document and paste the contents of my file there. Save the file wherever you want (I put it in my documents folder) with a .pl extension. Now you'll need to change the permissions on the file. Open up Terminal and change directories to your Documents folder (cd ~/Documents). Now type this command

chmod +x yourscriptname.pl
-to actually run the script type
perl yourscriptname.pl

Run the script whenever you want to update your blocklist.

EDIT: I edited the code so that it would unzip the the .gz file into a text file as to avoid the 0 size .bin file

Code: Select all

#!/usr/bin/perl -w

use strict;

my $bldir = '~/Library/Application\ Support/Transmission/blocklists';
my $baseurl = 'http://www.bluetack.co.uk/config';
my @bl = ('level1', 'level2', 'level3');

foreach (@bl) {
  system("curl -L $baseurl/$_.gz -o $bldir/$_.gz");
  system("gunzip -f $bldir/$_.gz $bldir/$_.txt");
}
Another edit: If any of the devs are reading this thread, can you answer this question? Does transmission only read the blocklist.bin for it's block list or does it parse each .bin file?
Debu
Posts: 105
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2008 11:03 pm

Re: Blocklist URL

Post by Debu »

x190 wrote:When adding blocklists manually unzip the file first and put the .txt file in the blocklist folder. You should then get a populated .bin file on Transmission restart.
whatever is buggy in the app's update code.
The problems may be on Bluetacks end. I prefer to use iBlocklist. Also, I find it is best to wait 5 days between update requests.
2 questions:

1. Can I block an individual IP address by using TextEdit to add a line at the end of the .txt file in the "comment:IP#" format?

EG: stingy peer:xxx.xxx.xxx.xx

2. If you don't mind saying, which blocklist do you use? (iBlocklist lists dozens of 'em...)

Thanks in advance.
Debu
Posts: 105
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2008 11:03 pm

Re: Blocklist URL

Post by Debu »

Thanks, x190! So T can handle multiple blocklist .bin files, huh?

I'll give the blocklist method a try at the next opportunity -- although I'm currently in what will be a fairly lengthy "seed only" cycle. I'll report back here after I give it a shot.

Regarding which blocklist: Gotcha - will do. (sigh) :wink:

(Yeah -- I was looking for an easy way out....) :oops:
oehmsmith
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2010 4:13 am

Re: Blocklist URL

Post by oehmsmith »

Transmission used to grab a blocklist on transmissionbt's server. This default list was only a mirror to bluetack's level1 list. If you still want the same list, you can grab it from this url: http://www.bluetack.co.uk/config/level1.gz
Doesn't work. The error about no IPs found is still being returned (either from the "cgi-bin" or .gz file).

The format is as is suggested in the post here. Eg:

General Electric Company:3.0.0.0-3.255.255.255

Which would seem to be the P2P plaintext format.

So is there an error in Transmission?

What about:
Postby mustgroove » Wed Nov 17, 2010 12:24 pm
At the moment I'm simply downloading blocklists & manually unzipping them to the /Application Support/Transmission/blocklists folder... an auto-update feature for blocklists is obviously a welcome (if not needed) feature, but it would be great if it actually worked properly with the pre-made blocklist formats that are most readily available (i.e. .gz, .zip)...
Surely you'd have the same problem?
oehmsmith
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2010 4:13 am

Re: Blocklist URL

Post by oehmsmith »

Perhaps it needs to be in DAT / donk format?

Code: Select all

001.000.000.000 , 001.255.255.255 , 100 , Some organization
I'll see if I can find a list that generates that.
oehmsmith
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2010 4:13 am

Re: Blocklist URL

Post by oehmsmith »

http://blocklistpro.com/download-center ... t-manager/ (Windows only) appears to convert to .dat formats. I'll try it when at work next week.
oehmsmith
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2010 4:13 am

Re: Blocklist URL

Post by oehmsmith »

Yes i paste in (some) contents from http://www.trustyfiles.com/help-sw-blockupdt.php and check out Transmissions prefs it says IP addresses are loaded. This file is in .dat format.
oehmsmith
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2010 4:13 am

Re: Blocklist URL

Post by oehmsmith »

Thanks x190 though I'm just reporting on my investigations. So when you paste http://www.bluetack.co.uk/config/level1.gz. in and say update does it work? This is where for me it error'd. However I tried again and it worked! Don't you just hate that.
tehpwnerer1918
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2010 2:32 pm

Re: Blocklist URL

Post by tehpwnerer1918 »

Is it possible to add multiple lists to Transmission by comma separation or other method? Like I have done below:

http://iblocklist.ottecomputers.com:80/ ... _level1.gz, http://list11.iblocklist.com:80/files/bt_level2.gz, http://list2.iblocklist.com:80/files/bt_level3.gz

I put that in, and it doesn't give an error when I update, but it also doesn't show any additional IPs being blocked, and is still at 224,914.

Thanks.
raginspo
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2010 10:07 am

Re: Blocklist URL

Post by raginspo »

I'm in the US and I cant connect to bluetack.co.uk at all to try and update my lists. It just times out. I tried to ping it and all requests timed out. My friend in NY tried it too, no luck. However another friend in Japan was able... so I dont know whats going on. Was hoping those involved with this discussion might know something.

-spo
Locked