Transmission Mac hung process accessing disk

Ask for help and report issues with the Mac OS X version of Transmission
prohtex

Transmission Mac hung process accessing disk

Post by prohtex »

I've been using Transmission Mac GUI for many years. I've always had issues with the GUI locking up (general unresponsiveness, beachballs) but this has improved in recent releases, so I moved to an external thunderbolt RAID and added more torrents (800 or so, each in the 20gb-50gb range). At any given time 95% of these are completed and seeding.

I've encountered 2 problems which I have not been able to resolve. First, when new torrents are added, the GUI goes through a very predictable series of hangs. I generally add 1-3 torrents at a time, using the "Display a window when adding" option. These populate in the main window, and sometimes begin to download. Then, there is a series of "hiccups" of intense disk activity on the external drive. These last 10-30 seconds, and cause all network activity to hang (all torrents stop seeding/downloading). Adding a few new torrents ALWAYS causes 5 or so of these "hiccups." I have the "keep incomplete files.." option set to a directory on the boot drive (internal SSD), so I don't understand why Transmission is seeking so aggressively on the external disk. There is always a hiccup when the download completes, but this I understand (the file is being moved to the external disk). But why when adding as well? Adding new torrents is a painful stop and go process and usually only resolves after 10 minutes or so.