host whitelist

Ask for help and report issues with the Mac OS X version of Transmission
Post Reply
glc650
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2019 7:47 pm

host whitelist

Post by glc650 »

How do I set the host whitelist on the macOS Transmission? I've tried:

Code: Select all

defaults write org.m0k.transmission rpc-host-whitelist myhostname
but that didn't do anything. Running 2.94 on macOS 10.14.6.

Thanks,

->g.
arfour
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2021 5:57 am

Re: host whitelist

Post by arfour »

Hey I know this is forever old, but when I went looking for this same thing I found your post here and on reddit, so figured I'd create an account and pass on what I finally found in the end just in case you're still in need. The problem was the plist key/value pair, the Mac plist syntax != the settings.json syntax on other OSs. On Mac, it's not rpc-host-whitelist, it's RPCHostWhitelist. And in case you also need it, it's not rpc-host-whitelist-enabled, it's RPCUseHostWhitelist. I just ran these both on my box (with Transmission closed, so the plist file wasn't locked) and it finally worked!

Code: Select all

defaults write org.m0k.transmission RPCHostWhitelist 'my.hostname.com'
and

Code: Select all

defaults write org.m0k.transmission RPCUseHostWhitelist true
Worked like a charm. Hope this helps.

(v3.0 on macOS 10.14.6)

- IV
glc650
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2019 7:47 pm

Re: host whitelist

Post by glc650 »

arfour wrote: Thu Mar 18, 2021 6:08 am Hey I know this is forever old, but when I went looking for this same thing I found your post here and on reddit, so figured I'd create an account and pass on what I finally found in the end just in case you're still in need. The problem was the plist key/value pair, the Mac plist syntax != the settings.json syntax on other OSs. On Mac, it's not rpc-host-whitelist, it's RPCHostWhitelist. And in case you also need it, it's not rpc-host-whitelist-enabled, it's RPCUseHostWhitelist. I just ran these both on my box (with Transmission closed, so the plist file wasn't locked) and it finally worked!

Code: Select all

defaults write org.m0k.transmission RPCHostWhitelist 'my.hostname.com'
and

Code: Select all

defaults write org.m0k.transmission RPCUseHostWhitelist true
Worked like a charm. Hope this helps.

(v3.0 on macOS 10.14.6)

- IV
Thanks, that did the trick.
Post Reply