Forcing Transmission to use a particular ethernet port

Ask for help and report issues with the Mac OS X version of Transmission
iacamacai
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2008 2:50 pm

Forcing Transmission to use a particular ethernet port

Postby iacamacai » Tue Feb 09, 2010 9:49 am

I've got two ethernet ports on my Mac Pro, both hooked to different networks. Is there a way to force Transmission to use Ethernet 2 (en1), as it always defaults to Ethernet 1 (en0).

I can't have the default port being en1, as there are many more services I need to access on that network. Any ideas?

Thanks :)

Jethryn Freyman
Posts: 695
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 6:11 am
Location: Australia

Re: Forcing Transmission to use a particular ethernet port

Postby Jethryn Freyman » Fri Feb 12, 2010 2:38 am

I get the feeling that this is more of a system level thing. You'd be binding a specific application to a specific interface. Should be possible to do somehow....
Transmission nightlies: http://transmission.xpjets.com/

iHoser
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2010 1:35 pm

Re: Forcing Transmission to use a particular ethernet port

Postby iHoser » Mon Mar 15, 2010 2:13 pm

You can try setting the service order of your network interfaces (System Preferences - Network):
Image
drag Ethernet 2 above Ethernet 1
Image


Return to “Mac Support”