Interface Binding on Mac (New App!)

Feature requests for the Mac OS X version of Transmission
hbwhite
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2018 10:55 pm

Interface Binding on Mac (New App!)

Post by hbwhite »

Update: This project has been discontinued.
Mods, feel free to delete this thread.
Last edited by hbwhite on Tue Feb 09, 2021 6:58 pm, edited 10 times in total.
fuori
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2018 12:25 pm

Re: Interface Binding on Mac (New App!)

Post by fuori »

Hi Harrison,

I'm surprised nobody has replied to your thread yet, so I decided to make an account to thank you for your efforts! I'm glad I don't have to switch to Vuze or qBitTorrent because of this "missing" feature in Transmission (I understand the reasoning behind why it's not being implemented, yet I feel this is actually a must-have nowadays).
Just installed Clutch and tested it - working brilliantly so far!

Thanks again for your great work, keep it up!

Best,
Matt
hbwhite
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2018 10:55 pm

Re: Interface Binding on Mac (New App!)

Post by hbwhite »

[deleted]
Last edited by hbwhite on Tue Feb 09, 2021 7:15 pm, edited 2 times in total.
hbwhite
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2018 10:55 pm

Re: Interface Binding on Mac (New App!)

Post by hbwhite »

[deleted]
Last edited by hbwhite on Tue Feb 09, 2021 7:15 pm, edited 3 times in total.
zymverb
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2018 6:32 am

Re: Interface Binding on Mac (New App!)

Post by zymverb »

newbie:
Clutch info says: "Clutch Agent runs in the background (it has an icon in the menu bar) and monitors the IP address of the binding interface. When the IP address changes, it will update the binding IP address in Transmission's preferences and restart Transmission if it was running. There is also an option to start Clutch Agent automatically when you log in."

But yet Clutch requests: "Binding interface?" AND THEN ASKS ME TO SPECIFY -what I do not know.

What am I missing?

Thanks ahead of time
hbwhite
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2018 10:55 pm

Re: Interface Binding on Mac (New App!)

Post by hbwhite »

[deleted]
Last edited by hbwhite on Tue Feb 09, 2021 7:15 pm, edited 2 times in total.
tikilab
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2019 8:59 am

Re: Interface Binding on Mac (New App!)

Post by tikilab »

A new interface should show up that wasn't there the first time. This new interface is the one you want to bind to.
What if three new lines show up? They all have the same "en2" bit at the beginning. Does it matter which one I choose?
Marc31
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 12:01 am

Re: Interface Binding on Mac (New App!)

Post by Marc31 »

Not to rain on anyone’s parade, Transmission Interface Binder serves the purpose since virtually forever (apparently all to inconspicuously).
rrossorr
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2019 11:28 pm

Re: Interface Binding on Mac (New App!)

Post by rrossorr »

Harrison, Thanks. I've been looking for this functionality for quite some time, I poke around every year or so to see if this was added to Transmission and saw your post ;-). Installed and working perfectly. @tikilab, The "en" interfaces are the builtin Mac network interfaces (in Terminal, Run "/usr/sbin/networksetup -listallhardwareports" to list them with a description). VPN interfaces usually start with "utun" and will be the one associated with a IP (in Terminal run "ifconfig") ... That's the one you want to choose in Clutch.

Again .. Thanks for the app
Richard
hbwhite
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2018 10:55 pm

Re: Interface Binding on Mac (New App!)

Post by hbwhite »

[deleted]
Last edited by hbwhite on Tue Feb 09, 2021 7:15 pm, edited 3 times in total.
hbwhite
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2018 10:55 pm

Re: Interface Binding on Mac (New App!)

Post by hbwhite »

[deleted]
Last edited by hbwhite on Tue Feb 09, 2021 7:16 pm, edited 3 times in total.
deltaman8
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Feb 01, 2020 1:57 am

Re: Interface Binding on Mac (New App!)

Post by deltaman8 »

Hi,
thanks for your work!

A major problem though:
- I bound Transmission to my VPN (utun1) with your app.
- I started Transmission.
- I added a torrent.
- I set download and upload limits (for that specific torrent) and started it.
- Wait a few minutes while download and upload progresses.
- For testing purposes I changed the VPN server.
- Transmission immediately quit and reopened (as advertised).
- BUT: All progress of my torrent was gone, all download and upload limits were gone. It seemed like your app does a FORCE-QUIT on Transmission.

So basically: A change in my VPN server will cause me to loose all torrent progress?
Why aren't you giving Transmission time to save the torrent settings and resume information first? Why Force-Quit?

Unfortunately I can't use this.
hbwhite
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2018 10:55 pm

Re: Interface Binding on Mac (New App!)

Post by hbwhite »

[deleted]
Last edited by hbwhite on Tue Feb 09, 2021 7:15 pm, edited 2 times in total.
deltaman8
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Feb 01, 2020 1:57 am

Re: Interface Binding on Mac (New App!)

Post by deltaman8 »

Wow, that's a quick response ;-) *thumbs up*

Your app's main purpose is to manipulate the preferences file of Transmission.
You should also be able to manipulate the "CheckQuit" property in that very same preference file. (which - as you probably know - is responsible for that dialog)

At first startup your app could check, if "CheckQuit" ( = the dialog) is enabled, then inform the user that he can choose to let your app turn that dialog off. Because otherwise you are forced to force-quit Transmission. Which would lead to Data loss. Which is bad. So most users will agree to letting your app turning that dialog off.

Could that work?
deltaman8
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Feb 01, 2020 1:57 am

Re: Interface Binding on Mac (New App!)

Post by deltaman8 »

Another possibility would be to have a small AppleScript that brings Transmission to the front and simulates first the keystroke of CMD+Q and then simulates the RETURN keystroke, which would deal with the dialog.
Post Reply