SOCKS proxy support

Feature requests for the Mac OS X version of Transmission
soulblighter
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2008 9:31 pm

SOCKs++

Post by soulblighter » Thu Feb 14, 2008 9:34 pm

I would also like to see this feature in transmission. Especially since ISPs are starting to filter traffic instead of upgrading their network infrastructure.

publicfacing
Posts: 221
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 9:14 pm

Post by publicfacing » Fri Feb 15, 2008 2:17 pm

Yup, this would be very good for Uni! :)

Selenolycus
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2007 6:22 am
Location: Western Hemisphere

Post by Selenolycus » Sun Feb 17, 2008 9:34 pm

I'd also like to see this implemented. I like to use SSH tunnels for all of my traffic, and would like to do so for torrents as well.
ipsa·uana·uerba·sunt

BlackFrog
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2008 4:25 pm

google summer of code project?

Post by BlackFrog » Tue Feb 26, 2008 5:48 am

If the transmission project is going to be participating in this year's google summer of code, I would definitely submit a proposal for implementing socks proxy support.

Thanks,
-BlackFrog

ryanknapper
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Portland, Oregon, U.S.A.

Post by ryanknapper » Mon Mar 10, 2008 4:37 am

I'd really like to have the option of using BT Guard with Transmission.

Taco
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2007 6:24 pm

Post by Taco » Sun Mar 16, 2008 9:38 am

ryanknapper wrote:I'd really like to have the option of using BT Guard with Transmission.
Me too... :(

mOSXquito
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 4:01 am

Post by mOSXquito » Mon Mar 17, 2008 3:56 am

Yes, SOCKs support would be great :wink:

adin
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2008 10:37 pm

Post by adin » Tue Apr 08, 2008 10:39 pm

Another vote for Socks Proxy support...
Moderation is for Monks!
-R.A.H.

Taco
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2007 6:24 pm

Post by Taco » Tue Apr 08, 2008 10:41 pm

Bump. I use SSH tunneling a lot now to bypass my companies intranet, SOCKS support would be nice. :)

Caution
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2008 3:01 am

Post by Caution » Thu Apr 10, 2008 2:42 pm

Bump. I have switched from Transmission to Azureus (blech) because of this. This is easily the most important feature missing imo.

mickeysf
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri May 16, 2008 11:35 pm
Location: San Francisco, CA

Post by mickeysf » Fri May 16, 2008 11:38 pm

So what happens if you open a proxy out via ssh on, say, port 12345 and then tell Transmission to use that port?

steveio
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2007 9:22 am

Post by steveio » Sun Jun 01, 2008 7:54 am

One more vote for the proxy. Right now I'm forced (kicking and screaming) to use Azureus just because of this one feature.
Looking forward to seeing it one of my favourite applications....

Cheers
S.

livings124
Transmission Developer
Posts: 3141
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2006 8:08 pm

Post by livings124 » Thu Jun 12, 2008 12:56 am

The latest nightly(http://transmission.xpjets.com/) has proxy support. Can you please try it and give us feedback.

steveio
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2007 9:22 am

Post by steveio » Thu Jun 12, 2008 4:25 am

livings124 wrote:The latest nightly(http://transmission.xpjets.com/) has proxy support. Can you please try it and give us feedback.
Great! Will definitely give it a try.

Do you want us to post feedback here, or PM you?

Waldorf
Posts: 1024
Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2006 10:46 am
Location: Belgium

Post by Waldorf » Thu Jun 12, 2008 10:35 am

Posting feedback here would be great.

Small note, this proxy support is for Tracker communication only. Doing so for the p2p communication would be madness (or so I've heard).

Post Reply