Install guide for webinterface?

Discussion of the Web Interface for Transmission, formerly known as Clutch. This applies to all version of Transmission
mymantheman

Install guide for webinterface?

Post by mymantheman »

Hi I'm new to transmission and I've been using rtorrent for a while, though the progress has stopped so I'm thinking of moving on. But I cant find any documentation of how to enable the webinterface, only a short wiki page of it. No prereqs (php? modules etc) Is there a step to step guide on how to make the webinterface work? It would really help!

Thanks in advance.
mymantheman

Re: Install guide for webinterface?

Post by mymantheman »

I've gotten it work, mostly, I get:

If you're editing settings.json, see the 'rpc-whitelist' and 'rpc-whitelist-enabled' entries.

I get:
ls transmission-daemon/
blocklists resume torrents

but I miss settings.json, shall I create it myself? I'm usin 1.60 beta
rb07

Post by rb07 »

mymantheman wrote:I've gotten it work, mostly, I get:

If you're editing settings.json, see the 'rpc-whitelist' and 'rpc-whitelist-enabled' entries.

I get:
ls transmission-daemon/

but I miss settings.json, shall I create it myself? I'm usin 1.60 beta
No, you don't need to create it.

If its the first time you run the daemon, then just stop it and it will write its settings to that file. If its not the first time... then the settings are somewhere else, look at the parameters used to start the daemon (which is the proper place to set things up, not editing settings.json).

As for your original question: no there are no pre-requisites on special steps, since version 1.34 (I think) the daemon has the Web client included, nothing special needed to use it except you have more settings for access control.
mymantheman

Post by mymantheman »