High Memory Usage

Ask for help and report issues with the GTK+ version of Transmission
Post Reply
User328
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2016 8:44 pm

High Memory Usage

Post by User328 »

What the average memory usage of Transmission running upwards off 500 torrents? This number seems low to me in comparison to past numbers but as of the last few days I have memory usages ranging between 800 MB and 2 GB to the point where my desktop is freezing out. I have never had this issue before. What can be done about this?
x190
Posts: 5094
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2008 4:59 am

Re: High Memory Usage

Post by x190 »

A troublesome .resume file or specific torrent, perhaps? Have you changed anything on your system lately? HD in good shape?

Windows user?
https://trac.transmissionbt.com/ticket/5682
User328
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2016 8:44 pm

Re: High Memory Usage

Post by User328 »

How would I be able to isolate if it was .resume file or specific torrent? Also no changes in the system and the HD is in good working order.
x190
Posts: 5094
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2008 4:59 am

Re: High Memory Usage

Post by x190 »

User328 wrote:How would I be able to isolate if it was .resume file or specific torrent?
Start them up in batches of 50, for example, and watch for memory issues.
PaulAnthony
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2020 7:54 pm

Re: High Memory Usage

Post by PaulAnthony »

I am seeing this issue too.
As I add torrents the memory usage is creeping up.
With 106 torrents, transmission is using 557M memory. When I had about 70 torrents it was about 300M.
This is version 2.92 (14714) for 32bit linux.
The fact that it has gradually crept up as I add torrents, rather implies I do not have a 'dodgy' torrent.
This is a new install (less than 3 months) and nothing untoward has happened.
Any thoughts? I cannot afford for transmission to use more memory, and would like to add another couple of hundred torrents in due course.
Post Reply