switch from ktorrent to transmission?

Ask for help and report issues with the GTK+ version of Transmission
Post Reply
wkearney99
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2010 2:40 pm
Location: Bethesda, MD USA

switch from ktorrent to transmission?

Post by wkearney99 »

Is there a way to import currently downloading torrents from ktorrent into transmission? I've got transmission 1.51 running now (loaded using the synaptics package manager on Ubuntu 9.0.4).

I've got a bunch of torrents currently downloading using ktorrent 3.2.1 on an Ubuntu 9.0.4 machine. I'd prefer to avoid losing all the parts of the torrents already downloaded. I'm willing to make it a 'one way trip' from ktorrent to transmission, if necessary. But I do have enough disk space to make copies of everything.

Is it possible? If so, what are the steps?
wkearney99
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2010 2:40 pm
Location: Bethesda, MD USA

Re: switch from ktorrent to transmission?

Post by wkearney99 »

bump?
x190
Posts: 5094
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2008 4:59 am

Re: switch from ktorrent to transmission?

Post by x190 »

Does your Transmission interface give you an 'adding transfers' window (Prefs>Transfers)? If so, just add the .torrent files to Transmission and then direct it to the appropriate data files using the 'adding transfers' window. Transmission will verify the data and continue on.
wkearney99
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2010 2:40 pm
Location: Bethesda, MD USA

Re: switch from ktorrent to transmission?

Post by wkearney99 »

I'm using the 1.80b4 gtk version on Ubuntu linux. When I open the preferences window I do not see a Transfers tab. I see tabs labeled Torrents, Speed, Privacy, Network, Desktop, Web and Proxy. Digging through them shows no options for anything like a 'transfer'.
x190
Posts: 5094
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2008 4:59 am

Re: switch from ktorrent to transmission?

Post by x190 »

Okay, then put the data files in your chosen Download directory (you must be able to set that info in Transmission?) and add the .torrent files to Transmission. Use 'Verify Data' if available and only if T doesn't detect the data itself (it should).

v1.80 just released.

http://www.transmissionbt.com/download.php
dixonpete
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 6:36 am

Re: switch from ktorrent to transmission?

Post by dixonpete »

I just switched today from kTorrent. It was pretty seamless - just had Tranmission open the torrents and away it went.
Jordan
Transmission Developer
Posts: 2311
Joined: Sat May 26, 2007 3:39 pm
Location: Titania's Room

Re: switch from ktorrent to transmission?

Post by Jordan »

Very nice :)

I'm always a little surprised when I read about people switching to Transmission from, say, KTorrent or Vuze.

They seem so different from each other in terms of approach and goals that it's hard to imagine them sharing a common userbase. :)
Post Reply