Java remote access and manipulations [Development]

Discussion of the Web Interface for Transmission, formerly known as Clutch. This applies to all version of Transmission
meir

Java remote access and manipulations [Development]

Post by meir »

Hello, I am fairly new to java development and I need help.
I would like to write Java application that access TransmissionBT remotely and does some basic manipulations with torrents, like read statistics ( what is the share ratio for particular torrent ) and starts/stops torrents. I read some stuff about it, but still unable to write anything that would at least connect to app and requests anything. I looked online for examples and such but didn't find anything usable.

Can anyone help me with java examples?

P.S: Please note, I am NOT planning to write "head" for the Transmission, I just need to be able to read stats, make decision based on the information and stop or start torrents as needed. Thank you.
elmotheelk

Re: Java remote access and manipulations [Development]

Post by elmotheelk »

I'm the developer of Transdroid, an Android application that connects to Transmission. Since this is written in Java, you might be just fine with using my code to connect. It is available online: http://code.google.com/p/transdroid and http://code.google.com/p/transdroid/sou ... apter.java for the class that actually connects to Transmission.

I you have any specific questions, feel free to ask me in a private message or post it here.
meir

Post by meir »

Thank you, I'll take a better look at it later ( after work ), can u tell me if I need 'import org.transdroid.daemon.*" libraries?
Since I don't write it for the Android, I would not need it, right?
elmotheelk

Post by elmotheelk »

Yes, some, like the callback interface and the tasks. Take a look at it and if you want some sample code on how too call Transmission functions, let me know.
meir

Post by meir »