Port Closed - "No route to host"

Ask for help and report issues with the Mac OS X version of Transmission
Post Reply
spcdust
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2010 11:31 am

Port Closed - "No route to host"

Post by spcdust » Fri Nov 19, 2010 10:13 am

On this latest release of Transmission I seem to be getting very inconsistent reports that my Port is closed. Not sure if it is related to the new release but on the last version I generally always has the Port Open green light showing.

Basically my setup is that my Mac is connected to my Time Capsule, which I have set to Bridge Mode, and this in turn is connected to my router/modem. I have Port 57519 set as a rule on the router to allow incoming and outgoing connections (I guess I only need this set one way - can someone confirm which?). In Transmission I have the "Automatically Map Port" option ticked but basically stick with Port 57519 as my port of choice. I also have the Transmission application selected in OSX preferences to allow incoming connections. However, Transmission inconsistently reports that the Port is Open - it may report it Open for a period of time - say 30 minutes, but then after a while it shows it as closed. Other times it seems to resolutely remain closed.

I'm certain my ISP doesn't indiscriminately block ports, however when I use www.canyouseeme.org I now seem to be getting the error "No route to host" - which is a new one on me and I admit I'm not sure what this actually means as before I'm sure it reported everything was okay. My only concern is that the Time Capsule is preventing me successfully keeping the port open at all times but again, my understanding is as long as you have this set to Bridge Mode this should be fine.

I really want to keep the port open as I'm sure this issue is having quite a dramatic effect on my download speeds.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

x190
Posts: 5094
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2008 4:59 am

Re: Port Closed - "No route to host"

Post by x190 » Fri Nov 19, 2010 6:30 pm

I have Port 57519 set as a rule on the router to allow incoming and outgoing connections (I guess I only need this set one way - can someone confirm which?). In Transmission I have the "Automatically Map Port" option ticked but basically stick with Port 57519 as my port of choice.
As you are using manual portforwarding you should not check AMP in T's Prefs. Also, disable UPnP and DMZ in your router.

A periodically closed port should not have a dramatic effect on d/l speeds. Give grc a try when checking for open ports with Transmission running.
The stone age didn’t end because we ran out of stones.
---The Great Disruption - by Paul Gilding
https://paulgilding.com/
-------------------------------------------------

spcdust
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2010 11:31 am

Re: Port Closed - "No route to host"

Post by spcdust » Fri Nov 26, 2010 12:12 pm

Just to close this thread - it was user error on my part. Although I created the rule at the router to manually allow the port I obviously had a little finger trouble when I'd entered the IP address of my computer - I was one digit off so obviously the rule wasn't being properly applied.

Post Reply